HomeSportsCricketBCCI Announces India's Squad for ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024: Check...

BCCI Announces India’s Squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024: Check Here

The wait is finally over! The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced its much-anticipated squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. Rohit Sharma will captain India’s pursuit of the eagerly anticipated championship.

The squad features a strong combination of experienced players and exciting young talent, leaving fans optimistic about India’s chances of winning the coveted trophy.

Also Read: Police Capture Sahil Khan After 40-Hour Operation, Spanning 5 States and 1,800 km

India is positioned in Group A of the competition, where they will compete against traditional rivals Pakistan, as well as Ireland, Canada, and co-hosts USA.

Their journey kicks off on 5 June against Ireland at the newly built Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York, followed by a highly anticipated clash against Pakistan in what promises to be one of the highlights of the upcoming T20 World Cup.

Who is the Wicketkeeper in the T20 World Cup 2024?

Before the announcement, there was speculation surrounding the wicketkeeper selection, with several contenders competing for the position. Ultimately, India has chosen Rishabh Pant and Sanju Samson as their wicketkeepers.

Also Read: Top 10 Must-Watch Indian Web Series: Crime, Comedy, Drama | 2024’s Top Picks

Pant’s inclusion marks his comeback to international cricket after recovering from a near-fatal accident in December 2022, which sidelined him for over a year. He has already returned to the Delhi Capitals team for IPL 2024.

List of India’s squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

  1. Rohit Sharma (c)
  2. Hardik Pandya (vc)
  3. Yashasvi Jaiswal
  4. Virat Kohli
  5. Suryakumar Yadav
  6. Rishabh Pant (wk)
  7. Sanju Samson (wk)
  8. Shivam Dube
  9. Ravindra Jadeja
  10. Axar Patel
  11. Kuldeep Yadav
  12. Yuzvendra Chahal
  13. Arshdeep Singh
  14. Jasprit Bumrah
  15. Mohd. Siraj

Shivan Dube’s outstanding performance in the IPL secured his spot in the squad, retaining his position after the recent T20I series against Afghanistan. The 30-year-old showcased his brilliance for the Chennai Super Kings, accumulating 350 runs in nine matches at an impressive strike rate of 172.41.

Also Read: WhatsApp Exit From India? Encryption Law Threatens Messaging App

India has opted for a spin-dominated bowling attack, featuring Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, and Yuzvendra Chahal, while Jasprit Bumrah will lead the pace attack with support from Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj, and vice-captain Hardik Pandya.

The selection of batsmen came as no surprise, with Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, and Suryakumar Yadav expected to bolster the top order alongside captain Rohit Sharma.

Reserved Players

  1. Shubman Gill
  2. Rinku Singh
  3. Khaleel Ahmed
  4. Avesh Khan

Reserve players include Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, and Avesh Khan, with KL Rahul notably absent from the list despite his participation in India’s last two T20 World Cup campaigns (2021 and 2022).

Also Read: Shocking revelation! Anmol Bishnoi confesses responsibility for firing outside Salman Khan’s house


Recent Posts

Most Popular